Writing | as my craft 

I used to write because I wanted someone to hear me. I wanted someone to hear me during those moments that I’d cried my loudest. But then I eventually realized that by victimizing myself, even I wasn’t even paying attention. 

I realized that what I actually needed was a reaction, and not pity. 

So, I started writing in a fashion that no longer exploited me. I figured out that I needed to captivate people; intrigue them. Make them so curious, they’re compelled to hear me out.

I eventually learned that my writing could no longer be just a conglomerate of emotions; a boxful of memories I hadent the chance to truly sort through. I needed polishing – the kind where you’re constantly weeding through your own dirt. If I was going to write, about my life, I had to do it justice. 

Leave a Reply

